Back to Top

2009 INBA Scholarship Winners

INBA awarded four scholarships to aspiring broadcast journalists at its Spring 2009 Convention in Champaign, IL.  Each scholarship, named for an Illinois broadcaster, was valued at $1,300.

Susanna Pak from the University of Illinois is the recipient of the Mary McAndrew Scholarship. Susanna is currently a reporter for (The College Network) and a teaching assistant for a television journalism class. She has interned at Asian American Network in Chicago, NBC 5 Chicago, and Korean Broadcasting Company in Chicago. She also spent two semesters as a Daily Illini on-air entertainment reporter. Susanna graduates in May 2009. She plans to use her scholarship money for an internship at KHON 2 in Hawaii. 
Mary McAndrew worked for UPI, Associated Press, Mutual Broadcasting, WBBM-FM, and WGCI-AM/FM and was a mentor to students in INBA.
John Twork from Eastern Illinois University is the recipient of the Bill Miller Scholarship. John will graduate spring 2010. He is currently the Sports Director at WEIU-FM where he does play-by-play for basketball and baseball games, produces and co-host a weekly EIU coaches show, and writes/anchors daily sportcasts. He does play-by-play of Shelbyville High School football for WRAN-FM. John has also worked at WJBC-AM in Bloomington. At WJBC he did some news reporting and anchoring, daily sportscasts, and play-by-play for football and baseball. John plans to use his scholarship money for an internship at WJBC this summer.
Bill Miller earned a Bronze Star when he served in World War II, worked at WTAX Radio, founded the Capitol Information Bureau and was director of the Public Affairs Reporting Program at University of Illinois at Springfield for 19 years. He was also a charter member of INBA, an Illinoisan of the year in 1989, and won a 1966 Edward R. Murrow award for his story about the sale of inferior furniture at Sangamon County.
            Jacob Long from Illinois State University is the recipient of the Don Brown Scholarship.   Jacob has interned at WMBD-TV in Peoria and is now a freelance reporter for the station. He is also Executive Producer of TV-10 News at ISU. Jacob graduates in May 2009 and is applying to the Public Affairs Reporting [PAR] Program at University of Illinois at Springfield. He plans to use his scholarship money for the PAR program.
Don Brown worked at WSUI in Iowa City, WHO in Des Moines, University of Iowa, University of Illinois and Arizona State University. He was as instructor in broadcast news at the U of I and News Director of WILL. He was instrumental in forming the INBA in 1955. The first INBA scholarship, begun in 1963, is named in his honor.
Jeffrey Wagner from Illinois State University is the recipient of the Larry Wilson Scholarship. Jeffrey interned at WHOI in Peoria and is currently interning at WMBD-TV in Peoria. He worked at TV-10 at ISU for several years where he was a producer, anchor, reporter, and photographer. Jeffrey graduates this spring. He plans to use his scholarship money for an internship at WTVO in Rockford.
Larry Wilson was News Director at WSMI in Litchfield for 15 years and was a long time INBA Board member. He was also an organizer and long time supporter of INBA Road Shows and active in involving students in INBA activities. The INBA Internship Award, beginning in 1986, was given in his name, and is now a straight scholarship.