Back to Top

INBA to announce Associated Press, SINBA award winners live on Facebook

ROCKFORD (INBA) – The Illinois News Broadcasters Association was supposed to hold its spring convention this Saturday, but the COVID-19 pandemic forced its cancellation.A big part of that spring convention is the announcement of the winners of both the Illinois Associated Press Broadcast Association awards and the Student INBA awards.  Not to worry, the awards will go on! INBA has partnered with WREX-TV in Rockford to help announce the awards live.  WREX Station Manager Josh Morgan is the president of INBA and is having his team put together the live presentation.“Times have been tough for broadcasters, both professionals and students alike, and we want to make sure they still have an opportunity to celebrate all of the amazing work they’ve accomplished over the last year,” Morgan said.13 News anchor James Stratton will host the event, 13 News anchor Kristin Crowley will announce the winners of the student awards and Morgan will announce the winners of the AP awards.  There will also be a special welcome message from Vance Koretos, the director of local media for the Illinois AP.The event will begin at 7 p.m. on the Illinois News Broadcasters Association Facebook page and on the WREX live stream page.  The presentation will begin with the student awards, followed directly by the AP awards.We hope you will gather your friends and colleagues virtually and join us for this special presentation!  Congratulations to all of the finalists!