Fall 2016 Convention

The INBA Fall 2016 Convention featured CBS News Correspondent Anna Werner. She recalled her time as an INBA Board Member, while working at Peoria TV station WEEK. She showed some of her work, including a piece on a valet parking service that took its customers for a ride on the streets of San Francisco. At the INBA Scholarship auction, member Nora Baldner surprised an Illinois State University student by giving her the item she had just won: a bottle of wine with Illinois Governor Bruce Rauner at his mansion.  Overall, more than $1500 was raised.

The convention schedule was as follows:

Friday, October 14

10am-2pm   Founders Suite
INBA Board Meeting   

4:30-5:15  Founders Suite
INBA Foundation Board Meeting    

5:30-7pm  Founders Suite
Opening Reception    

7-9:30pm  Old Main Room
Dinner and Program    

Saturday, October 15

9-10:15am  Old Main Room

Covering Police Shootings – Stories from the Field
   Ruth Ravve, Fox News Channel Producer
   Aaron Woodruff, ISU Police Chief 
   Hurdylyn Woods, ISU Diversity Advocacy
Moderator, Colleen Reynolds, WGLT-AM and Heartland Community College

10:30-11:45    Old Main Room
Using Facebook Live and Periscope

   Nate Carpenter, Assistant Director of Convergent Media at ISU
   Nora Baldner, Quincy University
   and Live interactions with Steve Scott of WCBS-AM, New York, Lindsey Boetsch of FIrstNews, Florida, and Sandra Torres of WBBM-TV, Chicago.
Moderator, Adam Studzinski, WJBC-AM

12pm-1:15pm   Circus Room
Lunch and INBA Business Meeting

1:30-2:30   Old Main Room
Working with an Intern – How to Make it the Best for All Involved

   Tom Lamonica, Director of Field Experiences for ISU SOC
   Jim Grimes, IBA MIP Internship Coordinator
   Lexi Landis, Illinois State University Student
   Breanna Descourouez, Western Illinois University Student
Moderator, Steve Suess, WZND Radio Faculty Advisor

2:45-4pm    Old Main Room
Staying Objective in the Current Climate

   Sarah Beckman, Producer/Reporter at WOI-TV, Des Moines
   Kerri Milita, Ph.D., Professor of Government and Politics
   Rich Egger, Tri-States Public  Radio
Moderator, Willis Kern, WGLT-AM

4-4:15pm  Old Main Room
Election Results:
Nora Baldner was elected Vice President, while Rachel Lippman, Bob Roberts, Jeff Bossert and Rick Koshko were elected to the Board of Directors.
The Illinoisan of the Year award was presented posthumously to Judge Abner Mikva, former US Congressman and White House Advisor.
H Wayne Wilson made the Closing Resolution