INBA Foundation

In 1963, the Illinois News Broadcasters Association awarded its first scholarship, a $200 stipend to Alan Morris of the University of Illinois. That began a long tradition of giving scholarships to college students pursuing degrees in broadcast journalism.

The scholarships are based on academics, financial need and a demonstrated interest in broadcast journalism. INBA, now offering annual scholarships of more than $2,000 each to four students, has granted more than 198 scholarships worth more than $174,000 over the years. In order to permanently fund the scholarship program, we formed the INBA Foundation, which the Internal Revenue Service designated as a 501(c)3 organization on April 4, 2003.

The Foundation operates autonomously, generating income to fund the scholarships while not participating in the selection process. A seven-member board of directors oversees its management, with its goal to maximize income while achieving equity growth primarily through contributions. Donors include companies and individuals with broadcast interests, as well as families, other foundations and corporations. The INBA Foundation retains an asset manager to supervise its moderately conservative portfolio in the American Funds family.

Scholarship winners in 2021 were Joey Safchik of Northwestern University, Camberyn Kelley of Illinois State University, Catrina Petersen also of Illinois State University and Yolotzin Franco of Western Illinois University.

Click here to ask how to contribute to the Foundation or if you have other questions.