INBA Spring 2015 Convention

April 24-26, 2015
at the Uptown Marriott in Normal

INBA celebrated 60 years of Ethics, Education and Excellence in Journalism, with 117 attendees, 19 panelists, and 1 keynote speaker.  
14 Past Presidents attended, 1 Distinguished Service Award was given, 5 Scholarships were awarded and 2 new board members were elected.

Friday night, April 24: 

1:30-4:30pm  Board Meeting — Beaufort at the Marriott

4-8pm  Convention Check-in will be open at the Marriott
5:30-7pm  Welcome Reception at the new Social Media Analytics Command Center at Illinois State University. Hosted by the Office of ISU President Larry Dietz.
Dinner and entertainment on your own in Uptown Normal


Saturday, April 25:

8am-12pm  Convention Check-in will be open at the Marriott
8:50am  Welcome from ISU President Larry Dietz – Redbird A
9-10:15am  Award-Winning Investigation of Police/Minority Interaction   Redbird A
Panelists:  Judy Valente, WGLT News Reporter
                  Michael Gizzi, Ph.D., ISU Criminal Justice Professor
                  Chief Aaron Woodruff, ISU Police
                  Chief Rick Bleichner, Normal Police
Moderator:  Willis Kern, WGLT News Director

10:25-11:40am  Frontline Stories from Ferguson, Missouri   Redbird A
Panelists:  Brian Thouvenot, KMOV-TV News Director
                 Mike Border, KTVI-TV Photographer
                 Noah Brooks, KMOV-TV Photographer
                 Julian Johnson, KMOV-TV Reporter
                 Mike Spaulding, WSOY-AM News Director
Moderator:  Chris Goble, Monmouth College

12pm  Lunch and Presentation of Distinguished Service Award to the late Jim Craven   Redbird A
12:30pm  General Business Meeting   Redbird A
12:30-1pm  Critiques   Jesse Fell C
1-2pm  News Directors' Roundtable     Jesse Fell B
Panelists:  Kent Harrell, WICS-TV News Director
                 Terry James, WJBC-AM News Director
                 Kristen Hamilton, KHQA-TV News Director
                 Jeff Mulligan, WMBD-TV News Director
                 Greg Schieferstein, WEEK/WHOI-TV News Director
                 Tanya Koonce, WCBU-FM News Director
Moderator:  Colleen Reynolds, WJBC-AM and Heartland Community College

2:10-3:10pm  The Future of INBA – 60 Years and Beyond    Redbird A
Facilitator:  Sue Stephens, INBA President, WNIJ-FM

3:15-5pm  Critiques    Jesse Fell C

3:20-4:20pm  Drones in Journalism
Panelists:  Ben Lynn, Freelance Camera Operator
                 Phil VanDiver, Heartland Community College
                 Ken Erdey, University of Illinois
Moderator: Bob Carroll, ISU TV-10

4-4:35pm  Associated Press Meeting/Illinois Public Radio Meeting  Jesse Fell B

4:45-5:30pm   INBA Foundation Meeting    Jesse Fell B

5:30-6:30pm Cocktail Hour
6:30 Dinner and Speaker:  Investigative Reporter and INBA Past President LP Phillips    Redbird AB
Celebration of INBA's 60th Anniversary
7:45- 9:45pm  Awards – AP Awards, S-INBA Awards and INBA Scholarships
10pm  Past Presidents' Reception   Marriott Lobby Bar

Sunday, April 26

9:30-1045am Examination of "The Brian Williams Effect"   Redbird B
Panelists:  Steve Scott, WCBS-AM, New York
                 Maria Moore, Ph.D., Illinois State University
10:45-11:30am  Brunch  and Closing Resolution   Redbird B